Snapchat recently announced a Group chat feature for you to start chats with up to 16 friends. The group chat can show who’s present in a group chat at the bottom of the screen, and are given the option to start a private chat by selecting individual friends’ names.
According to Snapchat’s official blog post:
“Groups can be created while sending a Snap, or when you’re making a new Chat. When your friends are present in a Group Chat, we show their name at the bottom of the Chat. Simply tap their name to start a 1:1 Chat, and then easily return to the Group in one swipe! We call this Quick Chat, and it’s the fastest way to keep the conversation going with one friend without spamming the entire Group.”
Just like all things on Snapchat, chats or snaps sent to a group are deleted after 24 hours and can only be replayed once. If you don’t open them in time, they’re also gone.
As the competition between Instagram and Snapchat intensifies, Instagram Stories continue to wage a war with Snapchat over ephemeral messaging, filters and creative tools are simple ways Snapchat can stay ahead… at least until Facebook implements its MSQRD live filter app on to Instagram. It’s only a matter of time, right?